intensely trivial



In which I try to lighten up. Ha ha! This takes a lot of concentration.
I have this bang-up paper I just wrote on the ethics of formula companies, which I may just share with you after I write this fun, disjointed post. πŸ™‚
A moist, cool breeze wraps around my feet as I write. Will my Sunday-morning endorphin run get rained out? I hope not, because I would miss the whole “I rock!!” feeling that lasts all day.
It’s been busy, and I’ve been overwhelmed and meltdowny. Thank God for clients who trust me and invite me to their births — and then pay me!
Some things, though, suck: like finding out you probably have herpes just when you are heading into the home stretch of an awesome vaginal birth. (I should clarify: I don’t have herpes! — It sucked for the A-MAZ-ING woman who was having the baby.)
Elanor is reading chapter books. She gets sucked in so much that her chair tips over and dumps her on the floor. Her room is extremely chaotic. Some of my friends have been by my side throughout this struggle for me. Thanks. Nothing works very well. My “good” is her “bad,” she tells me, after explaining her elaborate scale of goodness and badness of room organization.
Jonathan listened to Willie Nelson during his bath tonight. I listened to Willie a lot while pregnant with Jonathan and at the time felt like there was some deep significance to it. Now I wonder if the Willie-induced chemical reaction in my body with Jonathan in utero did some cool hardwiring in his brain and body.
And by the way, pot should be legal. Period.
For as hippie as I am at the core, my list of consciousness-altering drugs tried is pretty short: running endorphins, alcohol from a glass of wine here or there. That’s it.
Reading is getting short shrift lately. If only I didn’t need any sleep. Alas, I do.
And finally, tomorrow Dan and I celebrate 12 years of wedded bliss. Actually, we are fairly blissful together. πŸ™‚ This Dixie Chicks lyric expresses one thing I really love about Dan:

And I come to find a refuge in the

Easy silence that you make for me
It’s okay when there’s nothing more to say to me
And the peaceful quiet you create for me
And the way you keep the world at bay for me
The way you keep the world at bay

(Sorry for the weird video. I’m just including it in case you’ve never heard the song — and the words on the screen are helpful.)

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Terri says:

    Oh wow…would I love a graphical representation of Ellie’s room organization hierarchy! (I just can’t call her Elanor…I will try).

    Happy anniversary! πŸ™‚

    Posted 6 years, 2 months ago
  2. * Pursuer says:

    Happy belated anniversary, my friend. πŸ™‚
    This was a wonderfully random post!

    Posted 6 years, 2 months ago


Leave a Reply

