intensely trivial



In some kind of pressure-cooker

Just thought I’d write a quick update. If nothing else, I’d appreciate any prayers you might breathe for me, because I need all the grace and patience and strength I can get right now.
I just started this longwinded account of my week, and then I erased it. It would have been way too tedious. Here’s the short version:
I have three mamas due this week. One (Mama #1) is now four days past her due date. Today, I spent half the day with her at the hospital in Topeka, and she needs to sleep tonight. Tomorrow, things will most likely get under way all on their own. She is strong and doesn’t complain, and I admire her.
Mama #2 lives 90 miles from here. She is very dear to me. We’ve been through a traumatic birth experience together (her first). Her due date is today. I really don’t want to miss her birth, either. She is having her baby in Topeka, too, at a different place than Mama #1.
Mama #3 lives in Manhattan. Her due date is Sunday. Her labor might be fast and furious. This is her third baby. She is awesome. I was with her last night from 11:30 p.m. to 1:30 a.m. She sent me home after her contractions pretty much stopped, with pecan and pumpkin pie slices. Pecan pie is such a balm to the soul. Bless her.
I don’t want to miss any of these births. I don’t know when any of them will happen. Trying to figure out what God is doing with all these circumstances has brought me to the verge of insanity many times this week. I’m a little sad to be missing the Aberle Thanksgiving tomorrow; somehow the in-laws’ one I hosted last Sunday doesn’t really count. And the possibility exists that I might be awake for, say, three consecutive days.
It is such a privilege to serve women at their births, and I give thanks for it wholeheartedly. I believe these births are going to be healing messages from God to each of these women. But this week’s trusting-God lessons are kicking my butt.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Terri says:

    (((Hugs))) I will pray that God gives you the strength and perseverance to make it through this week!

    Posted 6 years, 9 months ago
  2. * Myra says:

    Praying….and missing you!

    Posted 6 years, 9 months ago


Leave a Reply

