intensely trivial



Happy day!

It’s actually my birthday today, and I’m celebrating turning 36! I’m feeling incredibly grateful about the last year! This has been the year of falling in love. . . with Jesus. And I think I would have anyway, even without all the ways he’s blessed me.
P1000539
Let’s see if I can count to 36 (and these include things I’m pretty sure are meant for me personally, as well as just God being generally lavish with his pleasantness):
1. sunshine today! (Seriously, is there any weather more glorious than this??)
2. a washline outside so I can enjoy the sunshine
3. seeing at least three people I know on a short run today
4. my dear old friend Melinda, who knows me awfully well, and uses it for my benefit, and is this very moment heading Manhattan-ward
5. Melinda’s sweet husband, Matt
6. the coolness of the number 36; I might only have two or three more years of my life in which I am a squared number old; plus, it’s a multiple of the number 4, which is the most perfect number there is
7. a gift of new dishtowels from my mom
8. the fierce strength of my mom, who gave birth to me on this day
9. Mom’s promise to write up my birth story as a guest blogger right here!! 🙂
10. the heavenly fragrance of garlic sauteed in olive oil, wafting through my house right now
11. a tomato-basil-garlic pasta sauce mellowing out on my deck right this minute
12. the prospect of the most decadent peanut-butter-fudge cake I’ve ever made. Hey, it’s my birthday, and I can make however many layers I want, and pile on as many calories as I want.
13. I don’t know how many kind birthday wishes so far. I feel loved and cared for!
14. about a ton of Candyopolis candy as a gift from my kids — most of which fell out on the kitchen floor this morning
15. the fact that I didn’t have to clean up the candy mess (funny how eager the kids were to help with that!)
16. joy in God’s presence early this morning (Ps. 16:11)
17. the heavens’ declaration of the glory of God (Ps. 19:1); the beauty of the earth
18. Dan, who told me last night that even if I turned into a fat blob, he would still love me (because I was worried about that, having skipped two days of running due to a cold; oh I am a mess sometimes)
19. stacks of scratch paper waiting to be scratched on
20. more pens than I can ever use up (reminds me of that verse in hymn #289, “The Love of God”: “Could we with ink the ocean fill, and were the skies of parchment made, / Were every stalk on earth a quill and every man a scribe by trade, / To write the love of God above would drain the ocean dry; / Nor could the scroll contain the whole, though stretched from sky to sky.” I love that imagery!)
21. a little boy entertaining himself outside right now by hammering with a rock on our retaining wall
22. a little girl who made three books for me for my birthday (one was actually from Jonathan, but she made it; it was the story of Jonathan walking a dog, and it walks over the sun, so he makes it come back)
23. the extreme joy of getting in on what God is doing! Man! I can’t get over how fun it can be to pray for things he wants and to serve him in other ways!
24. a kitchen that needs to be cleaned up; because that means I’ve been cookin’ and bakin’, and it’s gonna get clean again!
25. a good hair day! not a bad hair day!
26. exclamation points!!!
27. the girlie Bible study that my sisters, mom, and I are doing together, over the book crazy love, by Francis Chan
28. how cool it is that you can play a paper clip like a trombone
29. Jonathan’s “Hello Song” that he just played on the paper clip; really quite shrill and wonderful
30. walnut-throwing contests down the hill (a three-year-old beat me!)
31. racing back to the house (a three-year-old beat me at that, too! oh the humiliation)
32. Pandora radio, playing my Misty Edwards station — no better high these days
33. a mama this close to going into labor, and I get to serve her!
34. lunch here in, oh, five minutes: pasta with homegrown-tomato and -basil sauce, a little freshly grated parmesan on top
35. it’s monarch season!
36. my thyme patch P1000541
And that’s just 36 blessings for today! I can tell it’s going to be a happy one!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * erika says:

    Thanks for sharing! Your taking great delight in the small blessing in life is inspiring! It is so cool to see your joy be overflowing on a seemingly average day. I love it!

    Posted 7 years, 9 months ago
  2. * clbeyer says:

    Happy, happy birthday, sister! I think I smiled the whole way through that list! Happy!

    Posted 7 years, 9 months ago
  3. I love that list.
    I hope your day was marvelous.
    Much love!

    Posted 7 years, 9 months ago
  4. * Morgan says:

    I’m late, but HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

    Posted 7 years, 9 months ago


Leave a Reply

