intensely trivial



Saturday-morning pancakes

pancakes
We don’t really have a tradition of eating pancakes on Saturday mornings; that’s just when we have time to spend on syrup-delivery devices. These are my favorite pancakes of all time, thanks to my generous friend Emily, who gave me her recipe, modified from The Joy of Cooking. My recipe is slightly modified from hers. I make these hearty pancakes with 100-percent whole grains — obviously a health benefit, but also they taste better that way!
They are infinitely variable. This morning, my kids made happy faces out of blueberries in some of the pancakes, and I made some with chopped homegrown apples, toasted pecans, and cinnamon. Jonathan prefers his plain, and those are delicious, too! I’ve added bits of strawberries, bananas, chocolate chips, spices, and raisins in the past — and I’m sure some other things I can’t remember. Thanks to Dan’s parents, we have a griddle that can hold eight pancakes at a time; it makes pancake cooking a lot more efficient.

MULTIGRAIN FLAPJACKS

Whisk together in a big bowl:
1 3/4 c. whole wheat flour (I’ve often used part whole-wheat, part white whole wheat, part spelt, part. . . um. . . whatever flour caught my fancy at the whole-foods store)
1/3 c. cornmeal (stone-ground is wonderful here for the texture, but the regular stuff is fine)
1/4 c. oats (steel-cut are the best, but the regular stuff is fine, too)
2 T. sugar or honey
2 t. baking powder
1 t. salt
1/2 t. baking soda

Mix together in another bowl:
1 3/4 c. milk
1/4 c. oil
3 large eggs

Add wet ingredients to dry and stir just till combined. Pour in about 1/4-cup amounts onto hot griddle (I use a 1/4-cup measure); flip when top is bubbly and some bubbles have popped. Makes 16-18 pancakes.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * dobermama says:

    oh. my. goodness. these look wonderful!!!!!!!!!!!! You are making me hungry!!!!!!

    Posted 7 years, 9 months ago


Leave a Reply

