intensely trivial



Can you handle the truth?

As passionate as I am about certain issues, I still have so much to learn. The environmental thing, for instance: I have strong convictions, but I don’t always understand how the issues interact with each other. Some of my passions were birthed relatively recently. As long as the situation remains nebulous in my mind, I can hide behind my lack of understanding. But when my understanding increases thanks to reliable sources of information, I often feel a huge weight coming down on me. Now that I know the truth about this, how am I going to live? Am I ready to make the tough choices in order to do what is right? Sometimes ignorance is so much easier to bear than the truth.
That being said, I wanted to share two links with you that have been eye-opening to me, to say the least. I guess they would both fit into the environmental category. If you’ve been feeling comfortable for a while, they will probably make you feel. . . um. . . disturbed?

This article is about what plastic is doing to our environment, in particular the ocean. It is well written and sort of long, but I think it is well worth reading. I’ll warn you, though: It’s very disturbing.

And Better World Shopper rates well-known companies by their social and environmental responsibility on a scale from A+ to F. For example, what rankings would you guess mainstream peanut-butter brands would receive? Turns out that JIF, Laura Scudder, and Smuckers all get a B-, which isn’t too terrible. Skippy gets a D+, and Peter Pan gets an F. Huh. What do you think of that?
It’s kind of interesting to find out how the products I buy stack up when they are rated for social and environmental responsibility — from fast food to athletic shoes to paper. Check it out for yourself.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Jessica S. says:

    Okay, that is one depressing article. I’m surmising that you purchased the more detailed rating book from Better World Shopper…worth the $10? I looked at their company ratings. I heartily approve of Dr. Bronner’s (listed in the small company section). You can purchase Dr. Bronner’s stuff at Target. Weird heretical labels, awesome soap.

    Posted 8 years, 6 months ago
  2. I haven’t purchased the book — too cheap. But I imagine it would be more detailed and interesting. I didn’t know you could purchase Dr. Bronner’s at Target! Wow! People’s Grocery carries it, too. I have seen those weird labels.

    Posted 8 years, 6 months ago
  3. * Jessica S. says:

    I finally found the ratings…I thought at first you had to buy the book to get the ratings. Great site! Dr. Bronner’s is great for almost everything!

    Posted 8 years, 6 months ago


Leave a Reply

