intensely trivial



Ellie and Kaden’s castle cake

I’ll take any reason to bake a cake. There’s almost nothing I’d rather eat than perfect cake with perfect frosting, in the perfect ratio. So when a birthday rolls around (or Christmas, or Thanksgiving, or Easter, or guests over, or my blood sugar is low, y’know), I love to dream up cakes. No one in our house likes cake as much as I do, so I end up with a lot of leftovers — which gives me a perfect excuse to eat cake for breakfast. (But, as I tell people frequently, how exactly is homemade cake worse for you than, say, a commercial muffin with butter slathered on it? It’s not.)
Well, Ellie’s fifth birthday was this past Friday. I celebrated my delightful daughter, and I remembered the day of her birth. She felt celebrated, I think. And I had an occasion to bake a cake. She wanted to have a party with her cousins, one of whom also just turned five, so I designed a cake to work for both my girly-girl and her rambunctious cousin Kaden from the farm.
Here are some photos for you to enjoy:

Three 12x12-in. layers of from-scratch cake: yellow, chocolate, and strawberry

Three 12x12-in. layers of from-scratch cake: yellow, chocolate, and strawberry


several batches of Wilton buttercream frosting -- definitely not my favorite frosting, tastewise, but I needed something I could trust structurally

several batches of Wilton buttercream frosting -- definitely not my favorite frosting, tastewise, but I needed something I could trust structurally


Ellie helped construct the masonry on her wall with multicolored marshmallows

Ellie helped construct the masonry on her wall with multicolored marshmallows


pastel marshmallows turned gray-black with black food coloring, a bit of water, and flour to absorb the liquid

pastel marshmallows turned gray-black with black food coloring, a bit of water, and flour to absorb the liquid


Ellie spangled her door and windows with jewels

Ellie spangled her door and windows with jewels


Kaden's side of the castle; door made out of a chocolate bar (later I added a drawbridgey thing); the kids designed the windows. This also shows how lucky I was to fit it into the fridge.

Kaden's side of the castle; door made out of a chocolate bar (later I added a drawbridgey thing); the kids designed the windows. This also shows how lucky I was to fit it into the fridge.


Here's the whole thing. I was attempting shock and awe, and it must have worked on Kaden (see him in the back?). Just kidding. I don't really like to overwhelm people, but it was a holy-cow huge cake. The towers were made of Rice-Krispie bars and waffle cones. It wasn't the most beautiful decorating job, but I did what I could with what I had.

Here's the whole thing. I was attempting shock and awe, and it must have worked on Kaden (see him in the back?). Just kidding. I don't really like to overwhelm people, but it was a holy-cow huge cake. The towers were made of Rice-Krispie bars and waffle cones. It wasn't the most beautiful decorating job, but I did what I could with what I had.


Candles successfully blown out. Jonathan always manages to help with that.

Candles successfully blown out. Jonathan always manages to help with that.


Demolition begun.

Demolition begun.


I don’t set out to make humongous cakes, but I would hate to have made a tiny castle cake. It turned out BIG. Just for fun, I set it on the bathroom scale before we took it to the party, and it weighed 20 lbs. Good thing we left at least 10 of those pounds with family. 🙂

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * clbeyer says:

    Whoa, Rachel. That’s awesome. You are da bomb. I wish I could have eaten some!

    Posted 8 years, 6 months ago
  2. * Gail says:

    What a fun mom you are–Ellie looks like she’s working so hard at helping you!

    Posted 8 years, 6 months ago
  3. * Terri says:

    Wow…that’s adorable! I’ll bet it was really yummy, too. The marshmallows were a great idea.

    Posted 8 years, 6 months ago
  4. Okay, okay. I am completely in awe of you, my friend! That was lovely!!!

    Posted 8 years, 6 months ago
  5. * Erika says:

    That is one amazing cake!

    Posted 8 years, 6 months ago


Leave a Reply

