intensely trivial



Hi. . . remember me?

So apparently people are still checking my blog, even though I haven’t been posting. Bless you. 🙂 I imagine the time will come again when I feel overflowing with thoughts that must be spewed out to the world. Meanwhile, I’m being unapologetically introverted.

I do want to advertise about something that has me energized. Our church is having a women’s retreat in a few weeks, and I was asked to co-teach a breakout session on environmental stewardship. This topic gets me fired up! The ideas that the earth is the Lord’s and that his name is written on all of creation resonate deep in my spirit. I am no expert; rather, I am a willing learner, and I can’t wait to share what I’ve learned. So if you have the chance, sign up for the retreat, and sign up for my class! 🙂

One of the things I have been learning is that we need to have a restored sense of wonder for God’s world, and I got a glimpse of that yesterday. I was working the soil in my raised garden bed, and I discovered that the sage I started from seeds last year and planted in the raised bed was STILL ALIVE!! If I knew anything about gardening, I’d probably have known that it was an evergreen or something, but I didn’t know that. I was surprised to find those little plants still vibrant and aromatic. In fact, some had replicated themselves and grown little baby sages all on their own over the winter! Now that, my friends, is something to wonder at. That is something worth taking care of.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * carmen says:

    That is so cool about your sage plants. That is the thing I love most about Spring…having renewed wonder as I observe all the various plants coming alive again in all their diverse ways!

    Posted 8 years, 2 months ago
  2. * Erika says:

    Can you remind me the time of the retreat? We’re having family in town that day to celebrate Josie’s b-day, so I most likely won’t be able to go. SOO bummed. I love fellowshipping with women.

    Posted 8 years, 2 months ago
  3. * manhattandoula says:

    Sat., Apr. 18, from 11 a.m. to 5 p.m. When is Josie’s birthday? I can’t believe she’s 1 already!

    Posted 8 years, 2 months ago
  4. * precisionink says:

    I don’t think I’ll be able to make it, Manhattan being so far from Milwaukee and all, but would love to read your material for the class. And so many angles to take: growing a home garden, aka eating local; eating less CAFO meat; installing solar panels; dusting off the bicycle and sneakers–and dozens more! Hooray!

    Posted 8 years, 2 months ago


Leave a Reply

