intensely trivial



Lately

Here are a few of the things that have been consuming my energy lately:

1. Honestly, my pro-international activism took a lot out of me. I learned that I really don’t want to be in the public eye. I don’t regret what I did, not one bit. But after it was sort of over, I needed to be an emotional hermit for a while. I even put on my Gmail invisibility cloak, and you know what? I might never take it back off. I like it. A lot.

2. Three and a half weeks ago, I started making a concerted effort to lose the weight I mentioned as part of my New Year’s resolutions. I’ve been doing an adapted version of Weigh-Down. So far, I’ve made some progress.

3. My mom had back surgery. She is one of the strongest people I know, and I totally admire her steel backbone. Well, actually, it’s now part titanium. But seriously, my mom is one strong woman. Anyway, it’s hard to see her laid low, and I’ve been thankful to take these matters to the great Healer.

4. Twenty-eight days of decent sex. What? You want to know more about that? Well, let me finish the experiment, and then I imagine I’ll have some spicy stories to tell!

5. I’m moving slowly toward running again. I’m almost finished reading The Complete Book of Running for Women, by Claire Kowalchik, a motivating and informative read. I bought myself some new running shoes the other day, and soon, I’ll stop reading about running and actually do it! (It would sure help if winter would GO AWAY.)

6. My reading list is long, long, long. And I delight in chipping away at it. There’d better be a library in heaven, because I’m not going to get done in this lifetime.

7. Tonight I served a large, good-quality meal to about 20 people. I host a meal with guests about once a week, but this was an extra event. Tomorrow, I will be a pile of mush as I recover from the intense, people-oriented activity. But for now, I am just proud of myself for pulling it off. That’s another topic I want to blog about: hospitality. It’s a real testimony to what God can do with a 100-percent introvert who is available.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Erika says:

    Okay, you peaked my interest…I’m eager to hear about this “experiment”.

    Posted 8 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

