intensely trivial



Use a cloth napkin; save a (fraction of a) tree

This week, I’ve been making napkins! They are the door prize chosen by my good friend Terri, who participated in the basmati rice cooking challenge. I didn’t plan on spending a bunch of time making a door prize, but now was just as good a time as any to learn how to miter corners. I’ve made many, many napkins before, but have only finished the edges with a fine zigzag. Mitered corners are more refined, though, and sturdy — just superior all around.
Thanks to my doula friend Angela, who is also incredibly talented in so many other things (as most doulas are ๐Ÿ˜‰ ), I found a great sewalong at sewingmamas.com.
right side of napkin corner
pretty mitered corner
So, I’m kind of proud of my mitered corners — and will probably want to make napkins for everyone I know, because, besides being kind of fun and mindless to sew, and besides the fact that they are made out of FABRIC, they might keep you from buying quite so many disposable napkins.
napkin kaleidoscope

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Gail says:

    Those corners look great! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Posted 8 years, 9 months ago
  2. Nice. I need some new napkins, too. I will have to take a look at how to make mitered corners as well!
    Those are truly lovely, Rachel. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Posted 8 years, 9 months ago
  3. * Jessica S. says:

    yeah! So fun. Love the napkins! The potatoes look delightful. I think I’ve eaten something very similar. I wish I could have you over for tea so I could show you my “kitchen cloth” system (basically a small tub under the sink where dirty cloth napkins and Unpaper towels go after being used.) Oh, and the book finds are fabulous! Yeah!

    Posted 8 years, 9 months ago


Leave a Reply

