intensely trivial



Three days to go!

Just a friendly reminder: The basmati rice challenge deadline is on Sunday, Jan. 25! It’s been fun to see the ways some of you have come up with to create something with the ingredients in the challenge.

Once again, the ingredients you must cook with are:

basmati rice
coconut
chile pepper
tomato
peas
onion
milk/cream
oil (optional)

And don’t forget the fabulous prize that one lucky contestant will win: her/his choice of handmade fabric wipes, a rice sock, handmade cloth napkins, or a cookbook off my shelf!

Challenge details are here.

Happy cooking! Have fun!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Jill says:

    I finally made it to the store to buy the ingredients (painting our bedroom this week took up my grocery-shopping time!), and, since I am booked until Sunday afternoon, I am sincerely hoping that the birth I’ve been on call for the past two weeks happens either tomorrow or waits until after I get the cooking challenge done. I may be submitting my recipe at one minute to midnight on Sunday. πŸ˜‰

    Posted 8 years, 10 months ago
  2. * precisionink says:

    Coconut Biryani
    Recipe (with comments, probably too many of them) is as follows:
    Heat generous amount of oil in large, heavy pot. Add whole chili pepper and saute briefly. (This step did not add much heat, but I have a spice-averse child.) Remove chili; reserve. Add chopped onion (1 medium) and saute until glace. Add 2 c. rinsed and drained brown basmati rice. Stir until all rice is coated with oil. Stir in 4 c. coconut milk (one lite, one regular) and a little extra water (I rinsed my cans and poured that into the pot.) (I hope the coconut milk was not cheating; I had it on hand and it sounded good.) Cook for 35 minutes over low heat (peek near the 25-minute mark to make sure you’ve still got moisture-add more water if necessary.) When rice is tender, but not mushy, turn off heat and leave covered for 5 minutes. Stir in chopped tomato (2 lovely ones) and 2 c. frozen (defrosted and drained) peas. At table, pass toasted coconut and chopped, reserved chili to top biryani.

    I loved it. My kids didn’t like “the flavor” (uh duh, that’s what makes it like, COCONUT biryani.) Ron ate it tolerantly, without any seconds. Mostly, I liked the creativity, with boundaries. Thanks for the challenge!

    Posted 8 years, 10 months ago
  3. * Jill says:

    I just posted my recipe on my blog: http://mychiaroscuro.wordpress.com.

    It was so yummy! I’m ready for cooking challenge #2! πŸ˜‰

    Posted 8 years, 10 months ago


Leave a Reply

