intensely trivial



Ellie’s birth story: Getting to know Ellie

This is Part 4 of Ellie’s birth story. Click here to read the preceding installment, Ellie’s birth story: The hard part.

Getting to know Ellie

After a minute or so, the baby nurse took Ellie to the warmer to do all the newborn procedures, and I watched from the bed while the placenta came out (which I barely noticed, numb as I was, and besides, you don’t always notice that anyway), and Dr. Priddle sewed up my episiotomy. Ellie weighed 7 lbs. even and had reddish hair. She was very healthy. She did cry a lot. I know a lot of babies do that while newborn procedures are being done to them, and I wonder if she would have been comforted to have been held by me. Ellie ended up being a high-needs baby, and I wonder what would have happened if I’d been “allowed” to hold her more at that time. I didn’t think to ask for anything different at the time, though. Soon after they handed her back to me, we tried breastfeeding for the first time. She got it, no problem! I was pretty confident about it, and it worked fine. There was one scary moment when she seemed to be choking on something and turned blue, so I had to suction out her mouth in a hurry, but besides that, she was great. As soon as I fed her and held her myself, she was pretty content. I made Dan hold her, too, trying to make him feel like a daddy. She did seem to like him. 🙂
danandellie
So then we stayed in the hospital a couple of days. Our friends and family were excited for us. Breastfeeding went great. Coming home was hugely surreal – to carry a baby into a house that had always just been the two of us. Ellie was sweet, of course, and we cherished our first days with her, although the first night home she cried for hours on end until Dan asked if we should take her to the hospital. He went to Wal-Mart in the middle of the night for gas drops. Turns out she would cry a lot over the next few months. The transition to parenthood wasn’t very fun for us. We spent the next few months shell-shocked, fearful, and harried.
I’m trying to be truthful here, not make it sound all rosy. There were certainly moments of falling in love, and we loved Ellie fiercely, but it was a big transition.
ellie1day

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Ellie’s birth story: The hard part « intensely trivial pingbacked on 8 years, 5 months ago

Comments

  1. * Terri says:

    Ooooh…that face! 🙂 This is the part I remember the best. Those first few months: whew!

    Posted 8 years, 5 months ago
  2. * maar says:

    I love this story, as I love every birthing story!! What a miracle babies are!

    Posted 8 years, 5 months ago
  3. * carmen says:

    Wow, Rachel, thanks for sharing. I look forward to reading Jonathon’s story too! I loved getting a little inside glimpse into your experience. I vaguely remember some small conversations we had both before and after Ellie’s birth…I was quite clueless then…they make much more sense to me now…understandably, I guess.

    Posted 8 years, 5 months ago
  4. * Kate says:

    Thanks for the story. I look forward to hearing your second birthing story.

    You mentioned once that you would like to hear from me about pregnancy/birth as I am expecting my 7th. Well, how about this- the baby is breech (due date of Jan. 29th) and I just went today for the first of several chiropractor visits to help encourage baby to turn. If the baby does not turn however, we are still planning on birthing at home.

    Kate

    Posted 8 years, 5 months ago
  5. * manhattandoula says:

    Kate, I am so curious to find out how this next birth goes! You probably know several other strategies for trying to get baby to flip. . . if not, I’d be happy to point you in that direction, in case that would help. Wonder what kind of a child this will be?!? 🙂
    Can’t wait to hear this birth story of yours sometime.

    Posted 8 years, 5 months ago
  6. * Echo says:

    Amazing how much you know now that you didn’t know then! Thanks for sharing your story!

    Posted 8 years, 3 months ago


Leave a Reply

