intensely trivial



Cooking challenge — Who’s in? :)

OK, my friend Jill emailed me yesterday with a recipe question. Here was her situation: Her roommate had eaten something delicious at someone else’s house, and had found out what ingredients went into the dish so that he could make it at home, but didn’t acquire the recipe. He then went out and bought the ingredients, asking Jill to cook the mystery dish. He tried to describe it, but she needed more information. So she emailed me!! Since obviously I had a connection to her roommate’s tastebuds and could divine the way to reproduce this food. Yeah.

Anyway, here are the ingredients Jill told me she had to work with: potatoes, olive oil, lentils, yogurt, mint leaves, almonds, and onions. Now, how do you cook that?

Well, I did a tiny bit of research, which yielded this photo, and then I brainstormed until I had a recipe! Amazing! I should be on The Next Food Network Star!

I’m eager to find out how it turns out for her tonight. Meanwhile, her recipe question has piqued my imagination. It was so much fun to dream up something new with a seemingly random list of ingredients. So I wondered, if I pose a similar cooking challenge to you, would you be up to joining in and then sharing your results? I hope your answer is yes, because I already have a list of ingredients ready for you to work on!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Terri says:

    Oh boy…there’s some trepidation here…but I can’t resist!

    Posted 8 years, 10 months ago
  2. * clbeyer says:

    I agree with Terri. Sounds… kind of… fun. Mostly, I just want to see what everyone else comes up with.

    Posted 8 years, 10 months ago
  3. * erika sapp says:

    I’d be interested…

    Posted 8 years, 10 months ago
  4. * Melinda says:

    Sigh. . . OK, you’ve talked me into it.

    Posted 8 years, 10 months ago
  5. * Jill says:

    You TOTALLY should be the next Food Network Star. The recipe turned out great! We all loved it (well, all of us over 5, anyway).

    I am definitely up for the challenge. This is going to be fun! 🙂

    Posted 8 years, 10 months ago
  6. * Jill says:

    Oh, wait. But I can’t email you and ask for help, can I….

    Posted 8 years, 10 months ago
  7. * Terri says:

    Hmmm…maybe we call all e-mail each other for help…it doesn’t say anything about that in the rules!! 😉

    Posted 8 years, 10 months ago


Leave a Reply

