intensely trivial



Basmati rice cooking challenge

I have received word of at least three participants in this inaugural “intensely trivial” cooking challenge, so I’m going to post the rules and the details of it. You need to do it, too!

Now, no complaining, because this is an easy challenge!

The rules:

1. You have to use all the of the listed ingredients.
2. You can use the ingredients in whatever form you want.
3. You can use as much of the given ingredients as you want.
4. You may add as much salt, black pepper, and/or water as you want.
5. You may add one additional flavoring ingredient of your choice, if you desire.
6. You may not add any more large-ish amounts of unlisted food (greater than, say, 2-3 tablespoons).
7. To complete the cooking challenge, you must report on your adventures in your own blog, in an email, or on this blog. Pictures are great!
8. All reports on the Basmati Rice Cooking Challenge are due 10 days from today: Sun., 1/25!

This challenge’s ingredients:

basmati rice
coconut
tomatoes
cream/milk
onions
chile pepper
peas
oil (optional)

And to sweeten the pot, so to speak, I am offering a prize to the CC participant whose name I draw. Get this: You could win your choice of homemade fabric wipes! homemade cloth napkins! a rice sock! or a cookbook off my shelf! Now if those aren’t tantalizing prizes, I don’t know what is. šŸ™‚

So throw your hat in the ring and get cookin’.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Three days to go! « intensely trivial pingbacked on 8 years, 5 months ago
  2. The Basmati Rice Challenge « My Chiaroscuro pingbacked on 8 years, 5 months ago

Comments

  1. * Jill says:

    So can I pick the cookbook? šŸ™‚ Just kidding.
    If I don’t win, can I commission you to make me more napkins and another rice sock (you know…in all your spare time). šŸ˜‰

    Posted 8 years, 5 months ago
  2. * manhattandoula says:

    I would have a hard time parting with some of them, but I’d be willing to negotiate. šŸ˜‰
    I was thinking of opening a cloth napkin/wipe/rice sock store to supplement my doula business. What do you think? I’ve been getting kinda bored and don’t have enough to do.

    Posted 8 years, 5 months ago
  3. * precisionink says:

    winter locks us in
    smell of rice cooking frees us
    i can’t wait to eat!

    Posted 8 years, 5 months ago
  4. * manhattandoula says:

    precisionink, I love the haiku. I would like someone to paint it for me on a canvas to hang in my kitchen. Do you happen to do that??

    Posted 8 years, 5 months ago
  5. * Shana says:

    I want to try this challenge. It already includes some of my favorite ingredients. Unfortunately, I don’t think I can find a chile pepper at Country mart, though. šŸ™‚

    Posted 8 years, 5 months ago
  6. * manhattandoula says:

    Shana, just use any hot pepper you want — jalapeno, serrano, or even crushed red pepper. It all counts. šŸ˜‰

    Posted 8 years, 5 months ago


Leave a Reply

