intensely trivial



Not enough disk space lately

I’ve had all kinds of good ideas for blog entries, but for some reason life has just been overwhelming the last week or so. In the evening or at naptime, when I finally “have time” to post, I decide I really need to do something else, like read. Here’s just a quick list of the happenings around here since we got back from Christmas to-dos:

1. My dear friend Jill and her two sweet kids came to visit. It was wonderful, as all visits with Jill are.
2. While Jill and her kids were here, Jonathan was sick. He had a fever for several days.
3. New Year’s Eve and New Year’s Day. Finished Christmas cards. That’s a lot, when you’re married to Dan.
4. Just as Jonathan’s fever went away, Dan came down with his version of the sickness Ellie and Jonathan had had. He didn’t have a long fever, but it was one of those vicious man-colds. It laid him out through Sunday, and he’s still not really over it. And the whole time he was in the throes of this cold, I knew #9 was coming, and he’d be an invalid even longer. Poor me.
5. I have not been sick. I have been taking care of the other sickos around here.
6. I had coffee with my friend, Jessica. For some reason, I felt profoundly honored by that hour of conversation. Something about her respecting my boundaries, and maybe she was praying for me. It was really cool.
7. During the sickness, I was trying to wrap my mind around Ellie’s going to preschool. Her first day was yesterday. I got almost as nervous about it as I used to get before the first day of school, when I was teaching. Ugghh.
8. Ellie had her first day of preschool yesterday. (I know I mentioned that in #6, but #6 was really just about my mental state. 😉 ) It went fine, although on the way home she sat down in the parking lot and cried because she was so exhausted and hungry, and I was asking her to walk home with Jonathan and me.
9. Dan had a vasectomy yesterday. (I asked him, and he said I could tell about it.) He was not a happy camper before and after it.
10. At 2:30 this morning, we were supposed to pick up an international student to stay with us until she finds housing in Manhattan. Because of delays, I received text messages every couple of hours and finally went to pick her up at 4 a.m. I got her oriented to our house and got back to sleep before dawn, I think.
11. Ellie had a great day at school today! Jonathan misses her.
12. I miss my normal Dan and can’t wait for him to feel better.
13. Ending on a positive note: I made a tasty, healthy, vegetarian meal for supper and deserved every drop of the shiraz cabernet I drank with it. (Don’t worry; it wasn’t even an inch deep in my glass.)

When I get some more sleep and my life approaches normal again, I’ll blog about something. I have several controversial topics sitting on the burner. 😉

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Kara Tramp says:

    Rachel,
    I enjoy your blog. You write so well and you are perfectly honest which I just love.
    Have a wonderful New Year!
    ~kara scoby tramp

    Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  2. * Kara Tramp says:

    Rachel,
    I enjoy reading your blog. You are so perfectly honest and I love it. It’s just fun.
    Happy 2009!
    Long lost neighbor- Kara Scoby Tramp

    Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  3. * Terri says:

    Thanks for the update!!

    Posted 8 years, 7 months ago


Leave a Reply

