intensely trivial



Resolved:

I debated about whether to post about this. It seems many of the bloggers I read are posting their New Year’s resolutions, and I didn’t know whether I wanted to be like everybody else. On the other hand, I’m a pretty goal-oriented person, and the turning of the new year always energizes me. There’s a calm and cleanness about the first few days of January that makes me think big things are possible, and I joyously set goals. This year, I gave myself a little time to think about it so as not to make any rash resolutions. Who knows if I’ll actually accomplish these? God knows if there will actually be permanent change in my life in these areas. As daunting as these seem to me, I have stories of how New Year’s resolutions have worked out for me — obviously only by the grace of God — and I’m going to let those memories encourage me to work at these.
So here are my resolutions for 2009. Please ask me about them if you want. Hold me accountable. I don’t really look forward to the discipline of it all, but I’d really like to make progress in these areas. (And these aren’t in any particular order, and obviously some are more trivial than others, like #1. . . .)

1. No more overdue books at the library! Somehow this last year I got into a bad habit. My fines never add up to much, but I just need to keep track of our many library books better and honor the library system.

2. Close doors and drawers. Sometimes there will be six or seven things open in my kitchen — maybe only slightly, but really, how much effort would it be to close them all the way? It makes things look a lot neater.

3. Pray through the Operation World prayer handbook. If you are familiar with this book, you know that I will only accomplish this by the grace of God. But ultimately, I really want to have God’s heart for the nations (sorry, it’s a cliche, but true).

4. Lose _____ lbs. (I have to step on the scale tomorrow morning to determine this number.) This is going to be a challenge, because I love to eat. And the calories going in will have to be fewer than the calories used. Maybe I’ll write a whole blog post about this sometime, because it’s just not a simple matter.

5. Take better care of my skin and teeth. I know what this involves, but it probably doesn’t matter to you. It will make me feel better.

6. Work my way through a baking book. Ever since I heard about the book Julie and Julia: 365 Days, 524 Recipes, 1 Tiny Apartment Kitchen, by Julie Powell, I have been, um, intrigued? — more like obsessed — with the idea of cooking my way through a cookbook, every single recipe. Without getting too regimented about it, I’m going to try to bake my way through either King Arthur Flour’s Whole Grain Baking or Dorie Greenspan’s Baking: From My Home to Yours. I don’t think I’ll get it done before 2010, but this year, I’m going to work on it.

7. Get into a lasting exercise regimen. Sigh. I run, outside, for my exercise. When the weather gets too cold, I peter out. I just can’t bring myself to run on a treadmill; there is nothing more torturously boring in the world. But I need to exercise for various reasons, which I have listed on a piece of paper that’s been hanging inside my medicine cabinet for several months. This, along with limiting my eating, is probably going to be the hardest resolution to keep.

8. Break my internet addiction. Yes, that’s right. I have a problem. I have some ideas for how to do it. Today they worked pretty well. But it’s only Jan. 2. Pray for me.

9. Break my sweets addiction. OK, maybe this one will be the hardest. I have a sweet tooth from the pit of hell, and it will destroy me if I let it.

This is rather humbling. It is truly only by the grace of God that I will succeed, except maybe on the overdue books and the doors/drawers. But I’m going to start chipping away at them.

I’m curious about your resolutions. Did you make any? What are they?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Running « intensely trivial pingbacked on 8 years, 4 months ago

Comments

  1. * Kate says:

    I so don’t do new year’s resolutions- just for the simple fact that they always seems to fail. But I also know how a new year, the end of the holiday rush and a desire to start anew, clean up, etc. does infect you.

    I am suppose to be reorganizing the schoolwork for the children so we can get back in gear on Monday (they did Christmas stuff all December).

    I did print off the entire year’s worth of monthly calendars for my planner.

    I would love to get back to exercising -I did the treadmill thing for 8 months faithfully- but it’ll have to wait till the baby is born (one month to go!) as my body doesn’t do lots of walking well in the last part of pregnancy.

    One trick to treadmill walking is to either a) watch tv while walking
    b) read while walking
    If I could figure out how to surf the internet on the treadmill I would be walking miles a day! That would help you deal with your internet problems 🙂

    I also have a list of money making ideas but I just have not taken the time to start doing anything. That would be on my list as well.

    A woman can dream, can’t she?

    Posted 8 years, 10 months ago
  2. * t'ilia says:

    hee…9 for 2009. I don’t know if you did that on purpose, but it’s amusing. Also…sometime this year a movie based on Julie and Julia is coming out. Just an fyi.

    Posted 8 years, 10 months ago


Leave a Reply

