intensely trivial



Ellie’s Christmas dress

I posted in December about the dress I’d been making Ellie as a Christmas present. It turned out beautifully, as long as you don’t inspect the sash too closely, or the zipper. It also took up almost every naptime for weeks on end, and I’ve resolved to avoid such involved Christmas projects, especially when the bulk of the work must be done in December!
I was hoping she would think it was lovely, and she does. 🙂 She would wear it all the time, but I’ve said she can only wear it for special occasions or for church. She swirls and sparkles in it, and I’ve succeeded at not getting too stressed out about how she climbs and rutsches around in it. I poured a lot of time, effort, and, yes, money into it, but it’s not sacred, I have to keep reminding myself.
So here are a few photos of the night we opened our gifts, when she first tried it on.
img_34202 Carefully trying on the dress for the first time
img_34261 Can you see some of the sparkles on the overskirt?
img_34241 Does it pass the swirliness test?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. Yay! The blue is perfect on her and it is definitely sparkly and swirly! 🙂 Great job!

    Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  2. * Gail says:

    Oh, Sarah would so love this, and I’m pretty sure we wouldn’t be able to keep it for only special occasions! I love it–you did a great job!

    Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  3. It’s stunning, and certainly passes the swirliness test, in my book! 😀

    Posted 8 years, 7 months ago


Leave a Reply

