intensely trivial



Cookies!

I don’t know if you paid any attention to my post a while back about my Christmas baking plans — the one that listed 13 different candies or cookies I was planning to make for Christmas. That list was pretty daunting to me, but I planned and did some things ahead, and today I am proud to say I have made everything on that list! I’m kind of amazed at that. After talking to some friends, I added two things to the list that I haven’t yet made, and we’ll see if I get to them.

Here are my original baker’s dozen:

1. Peanut butter fudge

2. Cranberry fudge

3. Chocolate-walnut fudge

4. Springerle (that’s what’s in the picture at the top of my blog)

5. Basler Leckerli

6. Peanut butter balls

7. Panforte (originally I wrote pandolce, but I meant panforte)

8. Gingerbread cookies

9. Cut-out sugar cookies

10. Mini cookie houses

11. Scandinavian cardamom cookies

12. Hazelnut crescents

13. Snowballs/Russian tea cakes (the cookies with a thousand names)

Two of them have been baked and eaten up entirely, the springerle and the Basler leckerli (I sort of cannot stop eating Basler leckerli; maybe you read my confession of love for them when I posted a couple weeks back). The mini cookie houses are petrifying and gathering dust, still looking all enchanting, on our counter. There are three partial batches of fudge in the freezer, ready to be divvied out as gifts or taken to family gatherings.

This week, I achieved what I considered a major victory when I finally made the panforte. I would have posted about it, but I didn’t have time. I could write a love song for it, too. It weighs about 20 lbs., and it cost I don’t know how much money (I’m scared to add it up), and I spent at least a couple of hours cracking hazelnuts for it (very therapeutic), but my labor of love paid off in the sweet ecstasy of eating it. (We’ve only eaten a little bit so far. It ages gracefully and is going up to our families’ next week. And any of you who want to come over and try it are welcome! One thin slice of it should hold you till the next day. 😉 )

And today, I baked three batches of cookies. Two were favorites from years past, the snowballs and the cardamom cookies. The hazelnut crescents were a new adventure for me today. I think the hazelnut is the perfect nut, flavorwise. But I did discover that toasted and chopped hazelnuts are kind of sharp and not very comfortable to roll in your palms, which is what I had to do when shaping these lovely things.

hazelnut crescents

hazelnut crescents


I wish you could come have a cup of tea with me, and we could nibble on all kinds of goodies while we catch up with each other. But in case that doesn’t work out, hopefully my photos over the last few weeks have given you a vicarious taste of Christmas.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Terri says:

    Make it hot chocolate and I’m there! 😉

    After the New Year, right?

    Posted 8 years, 6 months ago
  2. * Gail says:

    I’m amazed at all that you got done! I’ve only made 2 sweets so far, and I think I’m only making one more. Your’s are so fancy, too! I’ll just say it’s the German in you so I don’t have to feel too badly about my boring ol’ stuff! I’d love to hang out with you sometime!

    Posted 8 years, 6 months ago
  3. * Jill says:

    Um, do you suppose you might have any of these left after Christmas when I come visit you? 😉

    Posted 8 years, 6 months ago


Leave a Reply

