intensely trivial



Straight talk on first-time birth, Part 3

This is the third part in this series on things I’d like to tell every first-time mother. Feel free to scroll down and read Part 1 and Part 2 first.


7. On birth plans
Birth plans are great for helping you think through your options. But keep them short. Don’t put things on there that don’t even make sense for your birthplace. For example, medical people don’t shave pubic areas anymore for vaginal births, so if you put “no pubic shaving” on your birth plan, medical people will just think you don’t know what you’re talking about. If you’re worried about something, ask your care provider what the birthplace’s protocol is, and discuss it from there.

8. Birth is a normal biological process
Most things associated with pregnancy and the process of labor are normal. Your body was created to do an amazing thing in giving birth. I honestly wish each of you dear readers would have the opportunity to witness a normal birth; it would leave no doubt in your mind about the incredible design of our bodies, and the incredibly beautiful process by which a baby enters the world. There is a wide range of normal. It’s also normal, when you’ve never done it before, to wonder, “Is this normal?” If you don’t know, ask somebody. Send me an email, and if I have doubts about it, I’ll send you to a medical person, because I’m not medically trained. But the vast majority of the time, whatever you’re experiencing is just normal for you and your baby and this particular birth. Start making healthy choices again, get calm, do whatever feels right physically, and watch everything settle down. (Unless, of course, you’re at 7 cm, and then nothing is going to settle down until the baby comes out!! 🙂 )

In writing these things down, I realized I probably needed to write a separate post on each item. However, I don’t have time right now to do that. Birth is a wonderful, wonderful thing, and for me, it never fails to call attention to the One who designed it. I am so very honored to be a part of this rite of passage in the lives of families.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * clbeyer says:

    I loved these birth posts. You could have written and written and it would not have seemed long-winded to me. I can’t wait to read more on the same subject!

    Posted 8 years, 8 months ago
  2. * dobermama says:

    I agree with Carrie! Reading these posts makes ME want to have a baby, and you know how weird that is! 🙂

    Posted 8 years, 8 months ago
  3. * t'ilia says:

    All of these things are good and wonderful for a first time mama, and because I did way more research than my doctors would have liked (they wanted to be in charge), I knew them. The only thing is, my body literally could not sustain labor. I needed pitocin (and the epidural that didn’t really work) and even then, I couldn’t make it past 8cm. (I was at 8 for 4 hours with 162/90 bp) So, I had to have a c-section or perhaps die in childbirth. In retrospect, as I read again about birth and the joy of a natural one (3 years later), I feel tremendous, tear-making guilt for not trying harder to wait, for taking the c-section and for knowing I’m going to have to have a c-section again if I have another child. For first time mamas, I think it’s important that they know the goodness of what you mentioned, but also know that it’s okay to accept medical intervention, if that’s what’s necessary. *sigh* my 2+ cents

    Posted 8 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

