intensely trivial



My daughter the metalhead

We were driving around town this morning, and the radio came on to a classic-rock station. The song playing was Led Zeppelin’s “Communication Breakdown,” which I will now post as a video on this blog:

I immediately turned off the radio, not because I have anything against metal music in principle, but just because we have enough sensory input in our vehicle as we run errands that I can barely tolerate the most sedate music. And as soon as I turned it off, Ellie said, “Mom, I liked that music! Can you turn it back on?”
Wow, that was a lot to comprehend. My four-year-old daughter likes Led Zeppelin? Cool.
So we listened to the rest of the song. Apparently it was the first song that guitarist Jimmy Page and vocalist Robert Plant recorded together.
My schemata are changing all the time.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Gail says:

    For some reason your sweet little girl and this song are hard for me to imagine together! I’d like to see her rocking out to it!

    Posted 8 years, 11 months ago


Leave a Reply

