intensely trivial



The great cookie house project

I have always wanted to make a gingerbread house, and since I’ve had kids, I’ve always wanted to construct gingerbread houses with them. This year, I committed myself to it when I put it on the Advent calendar for December 4. I had plotted and gathered supplies for about a month before the actual day of the project, including an hour or two of work Dec. 3, making sugar-cookie dough, cutting, and baking the pieces for the houses. I decided mini-houses were more practical at this stage, and stuck with a sugar-cookie dough recipe meant for making mini-houses (from my cookbook The Christmas Kitchen, by Lorraine Bodger).

My friend Jess from Dancing Among Infinite Love, Yahweh’s and her daughter came over to get in on the fun. Three young children decorating pieces of cookie houses. . . well, it was not boring!

I might write more about the whole adventure later, but for those who want pictures in a hurry, keep scrolling down. (I did not have the presence of mind to photograph anything during the actual construction.) This afternoon, now that all the frosting has dried, and I’ve cleaned up the kitchen, I made a little village with Christmas lights, cheesecloth, and the three houses. It’s quite magical, I must say, and it really brought “Hansel and Gretel” to life! (Jonathan was about to nibble at his house, but I think the story scared him enough that he won’t try it again. Not that I was trying to do that, but it was just too perfect an opportunity.)

My cookie house

cookie-house village

cookie-house village

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * t'ilia says:

    Those are so cute. And I thought I was being ambitious when I decided Cassie and I are baking and decorating sugar cookies later this month.

    Posted 8 years, 11 months ago
  2. * manhattandoula says:

    I have been planning a while to do this. Sugar cookies can be just as ambitious, esp. when your oldest kid is Cassie’s age. šŸ™‚

    Posted 8 years, 11 months ago
  3. * Gail says:

    Beautiful! I love the lights mixed in with the houses. We usually just buy the kits, but the kids have a blast putting them together and eat off of them for weeks!

    Posted 8 years, 11 months ago
  4. That was such fun – I love your village set-up, R!
    Thank you for including us on such a fun family moment. Precious Jewel loved making it. Now to keep her from pestering me to eat it!

    Posted 8 years, 11 months ago
  5. Oh, and I tagged you!

    http://dancingamonginfiniteloveyahwehs.blogspot.com/2008/12/awarded.html

    Posted 8 years, 11 months ago
  6. Oh, I forgot to tag you as well!
    http://dancingamonginfiniteloveyahwehs.blogspot.com/2008/12/awarded.html

    Posted 8 years, 11 months ago


Leave a Reply

