intensely trivial



You’re the Inspiration

I’m having one of those “I’m-your-mother-hear-me-roar-at-you” days today. I’m a good chunk mad at my kids today, and I know I shouldn’t be so upset, but I am. There are various reasons: We’ve all been sick, and Jonathan and I are still not back to normal. I’ve been trying so hard to be understanding that I’ve let them run over me. Dan was gone for a couple of days. I’ve had some serious sleep deprivation. I’m emotionally exhausted from different things. And this morning, like so many mothers since the beginning of time, I have had enough!
So I had the radio on, and I made a big discovery, and it made me feel a ray of sunshine in my heart, kind of like the sun streaming in our south windows today. Ready for the discovery? This will change your day! Remember that song, “You’re the Inspiration,” by Chicago, that played while you slow-danced with your boyfriend at those middle-school (for me — although I was only hoping someone liked me; my boyfriends were few and far between) or high-school (for you old-uns) dances? (OK, I digress.) Anyway, you thought “You’re the Inspiration” was a great love ballad, but you know what? It’s REALLY a child’s ode to his mother!!! It’s not about romantic love at all! It’s about the appreciation a kid has for his or her mom!

Imagine Jonathan serenading me, accompanying himself on his toy electric guitar:

You know our love was meant to be
The kind of love that lasts forever
And I want you here with me
From tonight until the end of time

You should know, everywhere I go
You’re always on my mind, in my heart
In my soul, Baby

(Me: I’m sure they just used that word “Baby” because “Mommy” wouldn’t sell on the radio)

Chorus:
You’re the meaning in my life
You’re the inspiration
You bring feeling to my life
You’re the inspiration
Wanna have you near me
I wanna have you hear me sayin’
No one needs you more than I need you

And I know, yes I know that it’s plain to see
We’re so in love when we’re together

(OK, I know that would be kind of weird. We’ll just ignore the weirdness.)

Now I know that I need you here with me
From tonight until the end of time

You should know, everywhere I go
Always on my mind, in my heart
In my soul

You’re the meaning in my life
You’re the inspiration
You bring feeling to my life
You’re the inspiration
Wanna have you near me
I wanna have you hear me sayin’
No one needs you more than I
No one needs you more than I

Wanna have you near me
I wanna have you hear me sayin’
No one needs you more than i need you

Chorus

OK, maybe that’s a strange interpretation of that song. I think maybe today I just need a power ballad to me, assuring me that my kids appreciate me and my sleepless nights, and that they don’t really mean to dis me. Tomorrow will be better. Hang in there, Rachel.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * clbeyer says:

    Rachel, you are mom da bomb. I’m glad Chicago and the image of Jonathan rocking on his guitar helped you see your superwomanness.

    Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  2. * manhattandoula says:

    Oh, thanks. Not sure I’m seeing my superwomanness, but at least I’m smiling about the lack thereof. πŸ™‚

    Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  3. * Gail says:

    Maybe we should teach all the kids at church this song to sing to us mamas on mother’s day–he he!!! Made me smile. Gail

    Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  4. * manhattandoula says:

    Great idea, Gail!! πŸ™‚ Thanks for reading! Love, Rachel

    Posted 8 years, 7 months ago


Leave a Reply

