intensely trivial



Introducing Dorie

Now don’t get all excited because I’m introducing someone you don’t know. I’m not pregnant. We aren’t adopting anyone either, human or animal.

Dan and I are on a first-name basis with Dorie Greenspan, author of Baking: From My Home to Yours. I learned of her on my first favorite food blog, Jumbo Empanadas (http://jumboempanadas.blogspot.com/). Brilynn, the writer of Jumbo Empanadas, is in love with Dorie, and for good reason. Every single thing we have made from this baking book has turned out wonderfully. There’s also a chapter with ice cream recipes, which Dan is especially fond of making, and they are just as perfect as the baked things. Must have something to do with using plenty of butter and bittersweet chocolate, and instructions that aren’t fussy, but are a sure guide to getting it right.

When Brilynn couldn’t stop gushing about Dorie, I checked out the cookbook from the library to see for myself. Everything Brilynn said was true! I baked recipe after recipe from the cookbook until I was forced to return it to the library. Thank God for amazon.com. Now Dorie occupies a hallowed place in our overflowing cookbook shelves.

I’m feeling a special flood of affection for Dorie today, because our copy of Baking came back today after living at a friend’s house for a few weeks. It was just in time to add a few more decadent goodies onto my Christmas baking list. I celebrated the book’s homecoming by making “Cinnamon Chocolate Squares,” which don’t sound that exciting, but oh my goodness. They’re like an extremely souped-up version of coffeecake with tons of bittersweet chocolate, espresso powder, cinnamon, and sugar that somehow stays a little crunchy, and I’m taking them to Bible study in the morning. Forget my intentions to bring something whole-grain and healthy.

My blood sugar is doing a little happy dance, because Dorie is back!

*****

By the way, when I figure out how to include pictures in my blog, I sure will show you what all comes out of our kitchen. I wanted to include some photos of tea in my post about Heather, but, um, yeah. . . I don’t know how to do that yet. I also don’t know how to create a link in the text (however you say it; I probably am saying it in a dorky way right now; you know what I mean).

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. Oooh oooh…now you can participate in Tuesdays with Dorie and get your pictures posted on Tastespottings! 😉

    Posted 9 years ago
  2. * t'ilia says:

    oooh lol… You’ve made me hungry, and laugh in the same blog. I think it’s a mite on the hilarious side that your hubby is a computer science guy and yet you self-confess that there are these computer things that you haven’t figured out yet. Have you asked him how-to? I want to see the goodies.

    Posted 9 years ago


Leave a Reply

