intensely trivial



Post-election stewing

Finally, it’s over. I was looking forward to this day — the day after the election, when presumably we would know who won (I have to admit that the Bush-Gore election in 2000 dashed some of my hopes of a clearcut answer in future elections), I could quit comfort-eating and mutilating my cuticles, and we would all go back to being our normal, undivided, happy selves. I was looking forward to knowing who won and who lost, and I’d decided I could live with either one being the president-elect. I could quit disagreeing internally with my dear friends and family on the other side.

But it didn’t just end at 10:00, when the major news stations declared Obama the winner. There are lots of people happy because he won, including me. (There, I said it. Please don’t hate me if you disagree.) But, as I knew all too well already, and as my four-year-old daughter explained to me at lunch, “Some people who wanted McCain to win are sad because he didn’t.” I know. I’m having sympathetic sad feelings with the sad people today, even though I stand by my decision. I wish our feelings were clearcut. I wish there were only one issue to decide about, or that we could all agree on everything. However, it doesn’t seem like that’s going to happen this side of heaven.

I did appreciate a diehard Republican friend’s request that we all pray for president-elect Obama, whether we voted for him or not. We all know he has inherited quite the mess. He needs all the prayers he can get.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. I appreciate Ellie’s understanding! 😉

    Seriously, thanks…and I’ll try not to pout too much.

    Posted 9 years ago
  2. p.s. Stop chewing your cuticles.

    Posted 9 years ago


Leave a Reply

