intensely trivial



meta-blog post

Don’t let me get in the habit of checking my blog stats. Maybe once a month or so. But certainly no more often than that. I really don’t need anything more to obsess over.

It would be too easy to let this blog make me crazy. I could worry what you all, my vast readership, think of my writing. I could worry that you won’t like me anymore when you find out what I really think. I could get all legalistic about it and think I need to post at least X often during a Y length of time.

However, I really want this experiment in honesty and self-forgiveness to work out. In truly narcissistic fashion, that’s probably one of my top goals. Besides that, and also narcissistically, I’m hoping this will be a place for me to vent some of the thoughts that threaten to explode my head 98 percent of the time. Ideally, I will learn to write more elegantly and use a slightly broader vocabulary than I do in daily conversation with my kids. (As I write daily in my pen-and-paper journal, I obsess about the fact that I tend to use some of the same sentence patterns over and over. Maybe here I can experiment with moving clauses around in the sentence! Isn’t that exciting? 😉 I’ll never stop being an English teacher.) Maybe someday, I’ll write something that will make you think about things in a new way, or inspire you, or make you smile.

If you’ve made it to the end of this post, thanks. I’ll try to make it worth your while to read my blog, but I’m not going to try too hard.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Gail says:

    Hey–just found your blog–I read lots and lots of them, which my hubby thinks is crazy! Just wanted to say that I’m excited to get into your mind via this blog! Thanks for being so brave–I keep thinking about starting one, but wonder what in the world I’d write about! Just in case you were wondering, I would not be one to notice if you happen to use the same sentence pattern over and over, so you can relax with me!! 🙂
    Gail

    Posted 8 years, 9 months ago


Leave a Reply

