intensely trivial



Trust Birth Conference preview!!

Tomorrow I’m off to Nashville for the 2012 Trust Birth Conference! I am reeeally excited to see some of my fellow students, some of the most brilliant people in birth work, and some of the bravest, most truthful, most compassionate people on the planet. I am not looking forward to being away from my family, and after this, I plan not to go anywhere for a long, long time — at least not without them.
Now this here is meant to torture you, as I am now going to reveal to you the sessions I am registered for.
All day Wednesday is “Midwifery Management of Neonatal Resuscitation,” by the inimitable NRP-accredited instructor Karen Strange.
Thursday I have a several-hours-long workshop with internationally known herbalist Shonda Parker, called “Ancient Herbs; Modern Medicine.” And then I have a three-hour session with Welsh-Australian midwife Lisa Barrett, called “Variations of Normal Birth.” (I could sit for three hours just listening to her talk with her beautiful voice and cadence and then trying to look like her, which I never will, but a girl can dream.)
On Friday, I expect to be blown away by a two-part workshop called “Oxygen and the Midwife,” with Jill McDanal. The director of my school raves about her vast knowledge of the research out there about supplemental oxygen. That may not sound like a big deal to you if you haven’t been at many births, but it kind of is, and the evidence doesn’t really support mainstream practice. I can’t wait to learn more about it so I know what I’m talking about. (That’s after the morning general session, and I don’t know what is planned for that. Friday is the first day of the actual conference.)
Saturday morning’s first breakout session is with Australian midwife Rachel Reed, of the wonderful blog Midwife Thinking, on practically my favorite subject, the umbilical cord. And then after that is a breakout session with none other than Dr. Sarah Buckley, author of Gentle Birth, Gentle Mothering, my favorite book to recommend to expectant parents; this session is called “The Hour After Birth: Postgraduate Education for Mother.” And then there’s “Cultured at Birth,” by Sherry Rothwell, a registered holistic nutritionist who will be speaking about cultured foods. And finally that day (ending at 9:30 p.m. — we are serious learners!) is a session with Lisa Wass, one of my fellow AAMI students, called “Transitioning from Doula Service to Midwfery.”
I can’t wait for Sunday’s sessions, although I bet I’ll be reduced to a blathering idiot by about then. The first one is by Karen Strange again (the woman who teaches neonatal resuscitation), and it’s called “Meconium: Facts, Implications, and Perspectives.” And then Sarah Buckley will teach on “Prenatal Testing and Ultrasound: The Good, The Bad, the Ugly.”
And then there will be a closing session, and then I will schlep myself to the airport and come home exhausted and overwhelmed and inspired and happy.
And hopefully the next morning when I get out of bed, I won’t break a toe, as I did my first morning home from the Intensity. The sacrifices I make. ;) And I will kiss and hug my kids and Dan over and over and over. And get ready to serve some more birthing families.

Comments

  1. * Shelley C says:

    Thank you for sharing your details. I will have you in my thoughts. You are doing such important work. Thank you.

    Posted 2 years, 3 months ago
  2. * Jill says:

    Was the hype worth the price? I love Carla…but I am just not that special :) Jill

    Posted 2 years, 3 months ago
  3. * manhattandoula says:

    I’m not that special, either, but yes, it has been well worth it. I am so glad for all of this.

    Posted 2 years, 3 months ago
  4. * manhattandoula says:

    Jill birthlady — Noooooowww I know who you are! Um, yes, it was more than worth the price! You are awesome. I hope you’re at the next conference and the next and the next.

    Posted 2 years, 3 months ago


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

