intensely trivial



In which I brag about my kids

Since I’m not on Facebook right now, and even if I were I’d have serious qualms about bragging about my kids, but because my kids are pretty awesome, I just have to share some fun stuff about them! (I dare you to diagram that sentence.)
1. Elanor, my creative dynamo who can’t for the life of her organize all the ideas spewing from her mind at all hours of the day, has been asked to help illustrate a book by a group of fellow second-graders. Book illustration has been her dream job since forever, so it’s wonderful that she gets to do just that. The writers have created a clever story about different kinds of rock (pumice, granite, limestone, etc.), where they originated, and the stories those rocks have to tell. Coincidentally, they all end up at Bluemont Elementary School. Anyway, Elanor and another girl are doing the illustrations out of cut paper, watercolor, and marker, and they look beautiful! They spent a couple of hours at school yesterday (Saturday) working on this project. When they’re done, they’ll be submitting it to a contest with Scholastic Books. Wouldn’t it be neat if they won? Maybe if I get a chance, I’ll share with you a picture of one of the pages.
2. Jonathan (and his friend/rival Katy) taught their kindergarten class while the teacher’s voice was gone. I think that is just awesome. They read one of the Dr. Seuss Horton books and explained directions to the class based on what the teacher wrote on the board. I love it that she gave them that responsibility, and I love that they’re able to manage it competently. The funny thing is Jonathan didn’t think it was anything out of the ordinary; he couldn’t even remember it when I asked him about it. I found out from Katy’s parents.
Sometimes I struggle with the idea of school. Are my kids’ energy and time being wasted on what happens at school? Should I homeschool them? Will the teachers recognize the good qualities in my odd-duck child? And then things like these happen, and I’m OK again.

Comments

  1. * Terri says:

    I love everything about this post! :)

    Posted 2 years, 6 months ago
  2. * Gail says:

    These things don’t surprise me at all! Even from a distance, I know your kids are extraordinary…I always loved hearing Elanor’s answers when I was in her Kid’s Life class. So fun that they’re being noticed! Definitely post her illustrations…anxious to see them!

    Posted 2 years, 6 months ago
  3. * frenchgirl says:

    That’s so fun.

    Posted 2 years, 6 months ago
  4. * Erika says:

    I loved this post! Odd-duck kids are my favorite. I’d love to see that book or a page from it. Elanor reminds me of Malia. And I think your kids are pretty cool!

    Posted 2 years, 6 months ago


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

